Summer 2012 Road Trip on Vancouver Island With the Smiths

Before Matt flew to Kuwait, to start his new teaching job, the four Smiths took a road trip to Sayward, Vancouver Island
Husband John: Let the adventure continue. Fist pump!  Shelley, the best bit is we have both Matt and Andrew with us. Boys, I’ve been thinking. On this trip I want you to drive the truck while it’s towing the fifth wheel. Time to man up.
27 year old Matt: No.
25 year old Andrew: No.
Shelley: No.
John: Why not?
Shelley: Besides the fact that the roads don’t have shoulders and they’ve never driven the truck towing the fifth wheel?
John: You never support me.
Matt: Andrew, one less needle in your arm is more money for your wedding.
Andrew: Good to know.

John: Shelley, see that sign. Hay.
Shelley: Hay.
Matt: Boy, going through Saskatchewan must be a Hell of a good time for you two.

John: Did I tell you about our last trip to Sayward? We caught 8 fish.

Matt: Yes. Dad, and that is why we can’t talk every day on the phone. You repeat your stories.
John: You hung up on me the last time I called you and Andrew.
Matt: Oh my God. You had already called us three times that day.
John: But, I had something to tell you.
Matt: What?
John:… Well now that you ask. I can’t remember.
Matt: Mom, can you turn off the air con? My gonads are tiny.
Andrew: Pretty sure it’s not the air con.

Matt: Ha! Ha!… Hey, stop bugging me.
Andrew: Let’s do “rock paper scissors” to see if I leave you alone.
Matt: Andrew! Don’t touch me! I mean it.
Andrew: I wasn’t. This is touching. Googly. Googly. Matt, why won’t you talk to me? We’re on a road trip. Last before you go.
Matt: For @#$%s sake! We just spent four days together. There’s nothing to talk about.
Andrew: What about…
Matt: Arghhh. Ash would never put up with this @#$%!
Andrew: I’m just going to put the garbage pail on your side.
Matt: No. It’s fine where it is.
Andrew: I don’t want it on my side. How about in the middle?
Matt: I don’t want it in the middle. I want it exactly where it was.
Andrew: What’s wrong with you? Why are you so grumpy?
Matt: I just want to read my comics. For the love of God. Mom!!
Shelley: Baby carrots anyone?

Matt: Andrew, can you chew louder?
Andrew: Sniff. Sniff. Gak. Gak. Look at this carrot. It’s going to be sooo loud.

Matt: Why did I agree to this trip?
Shelley: I have an idea. Let’s see whose carrot lasts the longest.
John: That’s what she said.
Everyone: Ha! Ha! Ha!
John: Look! There’s a field full of bison.

Matt and Andrew: Dad!!! You need to drive and let us look.
John: But, I’ve never seen bison there before.
Andrew: Do you know how to tell the difference between a buffalo and a bison?
John and Shelley: You can’t wash your hands in a bison.
Andrew, Shelley, John: Ha! Ha! Ha!
Matt: Holy @#$%! How much longer?
John: Time to listen to my podcast. I need to set the station at 105.1. Just give me a sec. and…
Matt and Andrew: Mom! You do it, so dad doesn’t kill us.
Shelley: Do you promise to stop bickering?
Matt and Andrew: Yes, Mother Dearest.
Shelley: And, then go to sleep?

Matt and Andrew: Yes, Mother Dearest.

Shelley: I know what that means.
Matt, Andrew and John: Ha! Ha! Ha!
                       Night times…


Matt: Andrew, for the love of God. Play.
Andrew: I don’t appreicate your tone, Matt.
Matt: That’s it. I quit.
John, Shelley, Andrew: You can’t quit. This is a fishing holiday.
Matt: Trust me the fish are on a $#%^ing holiday.





Bedtimes…
Matt: Andrew, I want to sleep on this bed.

Andrew: Get off it Matt. That’s my bed.
Matt: We need to take turns. It’s called sharing.
Andrew: No. We never agreed.  Besides, I really, really love this bed.
Matt: Andrew, you’re such an Asshole. You’re just doing that because I want this one. We’re switching.

Andrew: Not a chance. I slept on that bed for 3 nights. It’s your turn.
Matt: That’s such BS. You slept on it for one night.
Andrew: Not if you count last summer.
Matt: Fine. I’m, going to bed to read my comics.
Andrew:…  Matt.
Matt:
Andrew: Matt.
Matt: Andrew! Go to sleep.
Andrew: OK. We can switch. If you really, really…
John: Shelley, the best bit is we have both Matt and Andrew with us. 

Shelley and John

PS: And as before, if you are enjoying the blogs, add a comment, click “like” on Facebook, click G+, share with your friends and family on G+, Facebook and Twitter, Tumblr. Become a “Follower.” What the heck, read some of my older blogs. My ultimate goal is to appear on the Ellen Degeneres Show. With your help, Ellen will notice me! Thanks!xo

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

