Daily Prompt: Gimme – What Doesn’t Santa Understand?

easy-bake-1-1201

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/easy-bake-oven-biased-boys-article-1.1211575

Easy-Bake Oven

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The Easy-Bake Oven is a working toy oven introduced by Kenner in 1963, and currently manufactured by Hasbro. The original toy used an ordinary incandescent light bulb as a heat source; current versions use a true heating element. By 1997, more than 16 million Easy-Bake Ovens (in 11 models) had been sold.[1]

Mom: Shelley, you’re next.

Shelley: Oranges… Soap… Smoked Oysters… Toothbrush… Whoah what’s this? Oh! Ha! Ha! Ha! Easy Bake Oven cake packages. And Easy Bake Oven cookie packages… And Easy Bake Oven brownie packages… Ohhhhhhh Yeesssssssss!!! Oh my goodness. Oh my. Hurry up everyone. Get your stockings open. I need to get to my big present from Santa.

Mom: Your turn Shelley.

Shelley: A Teary Deary. That’s nice.Thank you.

Shelley and Shannon

Shelley and Shannon

Mom: Your turn Shelley.

Shelley: OK. OK. Let’s see…  Pyjamas with feet... Thank you.

Dad: Your turn Shelley.

Shelley: Ohhhh. I can hardly wait. It’s…. It’s… Slippers…… Thank you.

Mom: Your turn Shelley.

Shelley: Here we go. And… it’s… a… colouring… book. A. Colouring. Book.

Dad: Shelley, you forgot to say “Thank you.”

Shelley: Thank youuuuuuu.

Mom: Your turn Shelley.

Shelley: Oh! Ha! Ha! Ha! This is my last present… This box is quite large.  I wonder what it could be? Hmmmmmmm???! I can hardly wait to find out. Oh that’s funny. I have to keep peeling off layers of wrapping paper. Hopefully not too many. Whatever it is, it’s soon going to be too small to be an… It’s the game Trouble.

Shannon: Pop-O- Matic. Pop the dice. Pop a six and you move twice. Race your men around the track and try to move the others back. That’s…

Shelley: Yeah. Yeah. “Pop-O-Matic Trouble” from Mattel.

Mom: Shelley. What do you say?

Shelley:…

Mom: Shelley! What do you say?

Shelley:…

Dad: Shelley, Answer your mother. What do you say?

Shelley: I say I wanted an Easy Bake Oven. I’ve wanted an Easy Bake Oven forever. All I ever wanted was an Easy Bake Oven. I’ve asked for an Easy Bake Oven every year and I still haven’t got one. What doesn’t Santa understand? What a stupid old man!!!!!!! What am I supposed to do with all these stupid cake packages? This is the worst Christmas, EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mom: Oh for Christ’s sake Shelley. Why would Santa buy you an Easy Bake Oven when you can use my oven?

Shannon, Shelley on pogo stick, Shenley, Mom

Shannon, Shelley on pogo stick, Shenley, Mom

Shelley and John

PS: 40 years later my mom found one in a garage sale for my birthday. She couldn’t take another 40 of me whining about it. 🙂

Today’s Daily Prompt:  Gimme

Was there a special gift or toy you wanted as a child but never received? What was it?

 

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Gimme – What Doesn’t Santa Understand?

  1. That looks like one cool mom on a pogo stick! The kid on the pogo stick… well, let’s just say they could cast one of those paranormal horror films with that face… must have been after the realization there would be no Easy Bake Oven. You captured the mind of a child… I’d be pissed too… and who the hell gives a little kid a tin of smoked oysters, anyway!

    Like

    • The pogo sticks were awesome. But, couldn’t admit that in the blog. 🙂 Not sure why my eyes looked like they were possessed. Tried to fix it – but what the heck. We would have oysters, crab meat etc. with crackers. Actually loved the oysters. Weird eh?

      Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

