Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

ASIJ_top

Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

Michelle, Me, Julie at going away party

Michelle, Me, Julie at going away party

Parent: Mrs. Smith, I just heard that you will be leaving ASIJ (The American School in Japan) this year. I know I can speak for all the parents and students, when I say that you will be sorely missed. We just love you.

This was turning out to be one of my best dreams. Not ever, because nothing, and I mean nothing, tops being able to fly. However, it was definitely up there.

Shelley: Why thank you. I will definitely miss everyone here too.

Parent: What a fantastic PE and Health curriculum you, Mrs. Juhasz and Mr. Rogers put together. You must have worked your tails off.

PicMonkey Collage

Shelley: We sure did. Definitely a team effort.

Parent: And having co-ed PE classes. What a great idea. Don’t tell anyone, but we parents thought that it would never work.

Shelley: Well, it was 2007.

Parent: And introducing that Dance unit. Fantastic. Just fantastic.

Shelley: Thank you so much. It was a huge success. The hours of practice that went into  a two minute dance. You have no idea.

Parent: Who would have thought that Grade 8 boys couldn’t wait to get to class, so they could practice their Swing moves? How did you know it would be so successful?

Shelley: Trust me, we learned early on to what to stay away from, like Break Dancing. We looked like chickens with our heads cut off. This one time, I looked over at Mr. Rogers and there he was…

Parent: And those Health classes. Having the kids design Wellness Companies so they could pitch their Wellness program to a “Virtual” potential customer. Well, I never…

Shelley: That was a coup. We are pretty proud of our Health classes too. I’ll be sure to share with Aaron and Michelle.

Parent: But I want you to know that my youngest boy, Harry, who’s in Grade 7, says that you are his absolute favourite PE teacher out of the three of you. In fact you are his all time favourite teacher.

Shelley: Is that right? That’s great. I’ll make sure to tell the other two. I’m sure they’ll appreciate that. Ha! Ha!

Parent: I’m quite serious. Harry says that you take your time to explain new skills, make sure everyone is challenged and most importantly your classes are fun. Really fun.

Shelley: Well, I don’t want to toot my horn, but I do pride myself for trying to make sure that the lessons are designed to…

Parent: What will the school do without you?

Shelley: That’s a terrific compliment. Thank you. I’m almost speechless. Which doesn’t happen that often.

Parent: I know this will embarrass Harry, but he actually drew a picture of you teaching him how to play soccer.

Shelley: He did? Wow.

Parent: I have it right here. Would you consider signing it, so he could have it as a keep sake of his favourite teacher?

Shelley: Of course. I’m very flattered. Let me just get a pen and… Oh. Oh my.

miche

That’s not me. That’s Mrs. Juhasz.

DSC02581

Shelley and John

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

