Seven Things You Don’t Know About Me

PicMonkey Collage

As we are leaving Comox Valley, Vancouver Island, for the sun and the warmth of the southern States…

DSC00355

Shelley: Just so you know, these fuzzy, warm, in no way even remotely attractive sweat pants are not coming off until the temperature hits double digits.

John: Fine. Just so you know, we are not stopping until we hit California.

FotoFlexer_Photo

Since switching to WordPress, my husband John and I have been blown away by the number of people who have dropped by “Honey Did You See That?”  We had no idea that our frank exchanges, such as the one above, would appeal to readers, specifically Grndma Chris author of  Press “M” for Menopause

gma

and Shutter. Speaking of Grndma Chris, she has once again recognized our efforts by nominating us for “THE VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD.”  It is truly an honour to be thought of as inspirational. Thank you. Grndma Chris.

very-inspiring-blogger

Now for the RULES to follow when nominated for the VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD:

1. Display the award logo somewhere on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State seven things about yourself.

4. Nominate up to 15 bloggers and provide links to their blogs.

5. Notify those bloggers that hey have been nominated and of the award’s requirements.

Seven things about me you didn’t know before.

#1 Yes. Yes. I know that you know that I may cheat a little while playing games. What you don’t know is that I only cheat when it’s necessary, (When there is no hope) and that I would never ever cheat if money is involved. That would be wrong, on so many levels.

#2 While reading these books in public, I laughed out loud.

51xmlgeBOfL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

It was the chapter when David moves to Japan and tries to learn Japanese that undid me.

It was the chapter when David moves to Japan and tries to learn Japanese that undid me.

The pie eating contest

The pie eating contest

When Auntie Mame rides side saddle

When Auntie Mame rides side saddle

#3 John and I never did send in our American Idol Tryout video. Apparently you have to be American. Their loss. Trust me on this.

#4 John and I still can’t speak Spanish, despite the fact we bought the How to Speak Spanish for Beginners DVD almost a year ago.

#5 My Canadian Thanksgiving 2012 Family Dance Cover Gangnam Style video was rejected by Facebook because of Copyright issues. Thank God. I didn’t want that to go on my rap sheet.

DSCN0925

#6 I don’t have a rap sheet.

DSC04116

Honest.

# 7 There were times in my life when I may have told some half truths, such as when I wrote a letter to Donny Osmond

donnyosmond

stating that I too had undergone an emergency appendix operation. Although technically this is not true, as I’ve never actually had my appendix removed, I did have an emergency procedure performed on me. A splinter was extracted from under my thumb nail by a sadist doctor when I was 11. By the way, Donny never wrote back. Sound familiar, Ellen Degeneres??  I AM SO OVER YOU!!!!!

Now for my nominees:

1) arjun bagga – I am not really sure how arjun found my blog, but since he has, we have struck up a virtual friendship. When he is not posting amazing pictures, he posts poetry. He has not inspired me to write poetry, but he has inspired me to think about the possibility of making  “Honey did you See That?” into a sit-com or a movie. Even if it never happens, it has been too much fun bouncing ideas back and forth.

2) Ramblings From an Apathetic Adult Baby – When Justin Gawel, self described Dirtbag dropped by my blog, I decided to check out his. Glad I did. No topic is off limits for this funny man. (You’ve been warned!) Justin has inspired me to see the potential for humour in even the most mundane daily happenings.

3) The Return of the Modern Philosopher is written by moviewriternyu (Pretty sure that’s not his real name.) This screenwriter currently lives in Maine, in the house on the hill, along with the Devil, and Gary the Gargoylemoviewriternyu‘s offbeat blogs reminds me of News updates. He has inspired me to believe in the Supernatural. Kidding. That’s crazy talk. He has inspired me to think about who my audience is. He call his Modern Philosophers.

DSC00328
John: Yesssss. Double digits. Get in the back and get your knickers off.
Shelley: You first.
John: Aieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Shelley: What’s wrong?
John: The sheets. They’re like ice. Maybe later.
Once again thank you Grndma Chris, we are honoured that we caught your eye.
Shelley and John
17 thoughts on “Seven Things You Don’t Know About Me

  1. Congrats, and thank you for the nomination. I’m very touched. I wish I was wearing a formal toga right now, but it’s cold, so I’m wearing the ratty, fur-lined one. I enjoy reading your blog and am glad that mine puts a smile on your face. If you’re going to nominate me for awards, I guess you can call me Austin… 😉

    Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

