If you put Your Mind to it, Anything is Possible

IMG1123 IMG1124 IMG1131IMG1125

John: Honey, you’ve been in the tub for over an hour. Don’t you think it’s time to get out?

Shelley: No. I’m still cold.

John: I know what will warm you up. Heh! Heh! Heh!

Shelley: Nice. God, I miss being on the road, being warm, the sun,…  Blahhhhhh! If you bring me a glass of wine, that might help. Check that. Bring me the bottle. 

IMG1070

John: Shelley, you’ve got to snap out of this.

Shelley: I know, but how?

John: We’ll start volunteering again at Habitat for Humanity. We’ll buy a Comox Gym Pass to train out of the rain for our road races. We’ll join a frisbee team, so we can have more than one friend in the Valley.

Shelley: One friend… how sad is that?

John: Don’t forget we’re going to install a tile backsplash in the kitchen. You know how much you love to fix up the townhouse, my little HGTV woman, you. (Home and Garden TV)

Shelley: I guess…

John: And we’re going to do the tiling all by ourselves.

Shelley: But we’ve never installed a tile backsplash before.

John: Doesn’t matter. We’ll learn as we go.

Shelley: John, we are not going to “learn as we go” on my kitchen.

John: I’ll YouTube it.

Shelley: YouTube it all you want. We’re getting help.

John: Tell you what,  I’m installing it all by myself. If you think you need help, you can get help.

Shelley: Tell you what, you install it by yourself and I’ll get help from Shenley (my brother).

John: … Fine. You win. But I’m installing the Garburator all by myself.

Shelley: Doesn’t that involve electricity?

John: Yes. So?

Shelley: Not happening.

John: Jesus Christ Shelley! What is wrong with you? You never think I can do anything.

Shelley: Of course I do… But, the last time we played electricians with the bathroom lighting, we almost burnt the house down.

John: Dear God, you Orrs (My family) love to exaggerate. It was a little zap followed by a little fire. Your mother, The Fire Starter, would have been ashamed by how small it was.

DSCN0292

“If you put your mind to it, anything is possible.”

Shelley: Come on. Do you really believe, “If you put your mind to it,” it’s possible to install a tiled backsplash without any experience?

John: Yes.

Shelley: And a Garburator, it’s possible to install that too?

John: Absolutely.

Shelley: Just like that?

John: Just like that.

Shelley: You’re kidding?

John: Not at all.

Shelley: And this applies to everything?

John: Everything.

Shelley: No matter what?

John: No matter what.

Shelley:… Forget the wine, pass me the phone.

John: Why?

Shelley: I’m calling Comox Air Base. I’ve always wanted to fly one of those Snowbirds. And maybe, just maybe, if I really “put my mind to it,” it’s possible I’ll be ready in time for their August Show. 

cas-header-52

IMG_1368

John and Shelley

12 thoughts on “If you put Your Mind to it, Anything is Possible

  1. We – still FRed(tm) and I – thank the Gods that you don’t fly one of those pictured aircraft with a camperVan the size of a small country attached to the back. You’d spill the cutlery and everything. Orf now to find a therapisst.

    Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

