Wayyyyyy Too Much Information

Day 95, December 1st

Day 95, December 1st

Austin Texas, New Mexico, Arizona... Ha! Ha! I kid. Sort of.

West Texas, New Mexico, Arizona… Ha! Ha! I kid. Sort of.

Fort Stockton, Texas

Fort Stockton, Texas

El Paso Texas... note the wall separating Texas and Mexico. It runs through the city.

El Paso, Texas… note the wall separating Texas and Mexico dividing the countries.

New Mexico

Welcome to New MexicoWelcome to ArizonaWelcome to Arizona

Arizona

Arizona

Arizona

30 minutes to Benson, Arizona

Hour 16, day 2 of travel from Austin, Texas to Benson, Arizona…

Shelley: Doesn’t it make you uncomfortable how much people share with you when you’ve just met them?

John: Definitely. Like the french guy who shared why his first wife died, then  how he sold everything believing his RVing days were over. But his second wife loved being on the road so much, he had to buy everything all over again. All I wanted to know was how his TV satellite dish worked.

Shelley: Right? What about that elderly couple who insisted we join them for a glass of wine in their RV? While you talked to the old boy about RVs, his wife shared with me about the first time she had sex with her husband. It was a disaster.

John: Euhhh.

Shelley: She then patted me on the leg, winked and said,

“But honey, with a little practice it became so much fun.”

John: Ak. Ak. Wayyyy too much information. Do you remember the time we were leaving the Phoenix RV park when the gate guard cheerily said,

“Safe travels. Don’t know if I’ll be alive when you get back, I’m going in for a breast cancer operation.”

Shelley: I do. We’d never laid eyes on her before. What do you say to that?

John: I have no idea. The worst part is people smile and wait for your share. Somehow saying that you live in the Comox Valley on Vancouver Island, BC, doesn’t seem enough.

Comox Glacier, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Comox Glacier, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Shelley: True. But it’s better than allowing your competitive spirit to rear its ugly head. Like last Thanksgiving morning, when were with the Mullens preparing turkey dinners for the homeless, a woman we had not said more than, “Hello” to shared with Tod and I that feeding the homeless wasn’t her biggest donation. Heading to the hospital in a weeks time to donate her kidney to a man she met on the golf course only a month ago was. It was all I could do not to say,

“Oh really? Last week when I donated one kidney, one lung and one toe to a young woman who had her entire life to live, I felt so fulfilled. That was definitely my biggest donation.”

A Dr. Seuss tree.

A Dr. Seuss tree.

Cactus Barrel

Cactus Barrel

Cactus Barrel

Cactus Barrel

Shelley and John

Have a listen to this podcast, “Friday Night Comedy” which hails from England. Similar to “Wait Wait Don’t tell me” it deals with current events. Mostly in England and Europe. Now and then it hops the pond.  Yes, even this show has a go at Rob Ford. Sigh.

27 thoughts on “Wayyyyyy Too Much Information

  1. If you donated a toe, she’d have it instead of you. What is the point of this toe donation? Perhaps, she lost all her toes, and each person gives her a toe. That way, you lose just one toe, while she gains a proper foot. That must be it. Is that it?

    Like

  2. I love how we (Americans) simultaneously obsess over privacy and personal space, then turn around and share way too much personal information in casual conversation with strangers (or online). It’s so bizarre, yet endearing…like the time I had this rash on my…oops, there I go again!

    Like

  3. I so love it when people over share. I think it stems from people being bored because their spouse or their circle of friends have heard all their stories and don’t bother listening to them anymore. Then there is the shock value. Or maybe you look like their therapist?? Just have another glass of wine…

    Like

    • I think it’s all of the above. I’d appreciate it if you could pen a post of worthless advice about this topic. John says he would be very very thankful 🙂 As for me looking like a therapist, absolutely, especially with my balloon size glass of red wine.

      Like

    • We are definitely out of the deep south. John says he bought the wrong college football T-shirt. (Alabama) Figures. We watched a documentary on the two college football teams there. Some people said, “Football then family” was their motto. WT??????

      Like

      • Now there’s a smart woman. 🙂 My son’s have a “help me” signal when they go to a party and run into the “I’ve never told anyone this before…. When they rub their eye brow, the other is supposed to perform a rescue. More often than not, they leave each other stranded for laughs.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Wayyyyyy Too Much Information | Honey Did you See That?

  5. Yea, don’t people realize that you can only tell too much information on a blog and not in person??????? What’s the matter with them? Did I tell you the time I donated my spleen for research? 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh my gosh, you guys have what I affectionately call open faces. As in, people tell you their sh*t. My uncle nicknamed me Open Face years ago for this very reason. It’s like people look at me and decide to purge their soul. I was in an airport once at 5am waiting on my flight, and this demure looking woman in her mid-thirties was sitting next to me. She kept trying to start a conversation, but I wasn’t yet caffeinated enough to converse, so I mostly nodded and smiled as she chatted away. Finally she asked, “So is this early enough for you?” Before I could answer she said, “Oh, this is nothing for me. Two days ago my two-year-old found my vibrator, and I was jolted out of a deep sleep at 3am to him waving it in my face.” I just stared at her blankly, and she said, “I’m single so, you know….” I seriously had no words, so again I nodded and smiled. She finished by telling me, “He just kept waving it around all over the place, and it was so loud….he had it on the highest setting.” What exactly are you supposed to say to something like that? I probably just nodded and smiled. Geez!

    Like

    • That is seriously Hell! I am choking on my red wine. I have no idea what you would say to that. Maybe like us, “I’m from Alabama. I support Auburn. It’s a football team.” I am soo uncomfortable thinking about that my arm pits have started to sweat!!

      Like

  7. Dude!! I was down with the chicken pox when y’all passed through Alabama so I had no energy to comment, but you totally should have gone with an Auburn t-shirt! I’m an Auburn grad, and Gil grew up in Auburn selling programs at the football games. War Eagle and happy, safe travels!!

    Like

    • And after Saturday… Oh My! What kind of ending to a game was that??? I was afraid John was going to turn back and get the Auburn T-shirt. Agony shopping with that man. We went through it again with our friends in Austin. As for chicken pox, OMG poor you. Good to know you’re out of the woods. Had it as a kiddy, but as an adult, I heard it’s a whammy!

      Like

  8. This article hit home with me…as Grief Happens noted above, I must have an open face too.

    I was in the waiting room of my orthopedic’s office on Tuesday and a woman I had never seen before sat down right next to me and started telling me how badly she was sweating…aaacckk!

    Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

