Let the Games Begin

IMG_2911

Shelley: Mmmmmmmmhmmmmm. This chili is going to be goooood.

Mom: It’s not too hot, is it? Your dad can’t eat hot chili.

Shelley: Not at all.

IMG_2910

Mom: How about mushrooms? I like mushrooms in my chili.

Shelley: Yep.

Mom: Oh that’s good. Did you use the entire can of home made tomatoes that Jenny (my sister-in-law) gave you?

Jenny and my nieces, Mia and Taylor

Jenny and my nieces, Mia and Taylor

Shelley: Only about half.

Mom: Because the chili would be really juicy with all of those tomatoes.

Shelley: I can put the rest in.

Mom: No. No. That’s OK. It should still be juicy with half. Oh. I gave you three cans of chili beans. Did you use them?

Shelley: I decided two cans were enough. You can take the third can back. Thanks.

Mom: No. No. Keep it. Did you use the red and the brown kidney beans? I like my chili with both brown and red kidney beans.

Shelley: Yes. Absolutely.

Mom: Did you rinse the beans before you put them in the chili?

Shelley: You’re killing me.

Everyone: Oh! Ha! Ha! Ha!

Mom: Because there’s all kinds of disgusting things in that fluid.

John: (Whispering to Shelley) You didn’t, did you?

Shelley: Shhhhh!!!! Mom, how would you like…

Mom: No thanks.

Shelley: Wait. You don’t know what I was going to say.

Mom: Of course I do. You were going to ask me if I wanted to take half of the loaf back to my RV.

Shelley: Ah. No. I was going to ask you if you would like garlic butter on the french bread.

Mom: You do whatever you want. You’re the cook.

IMG_2924

Mom: Not like that. You’ll never hit any of the vital organs. You need to go in then across.

IMG_2920

This morning mom, dad, John and I head to Mexico for a week.

Let the games begin.

Dec. 15 - Feb. 6th, 2014

Dec. 15 – Feb. 6th, 2014

Day 164, Feb. 6th, 2014

Day 164, Feb. 6th, 2014

Shelley and John

35 thoughts on “Let the Games Begin

  1. You get countless bonus points for sequestering yourself (and John of course) for days with the parental units. Based on that conversation alone, I would have lunged somewhere with that knife. Those conversations drive me to drink (even at wineries in the middle of deserts). Happy trails!! 🙂

    Like

  2. So you MUST rinse the beans because otherwise it’s gross, BUT if I remember correctly this is the same woman who was seriously considering collecting everyone’s chicken remains for stock. Oh, mothers!! Love the pic of your parents — big smiles with big glasses of red wine! I can’t wait to read more about this trip. Lots of wine and lots of running for this trip !! Have fun, can’t wait to read about it!

    Like

  3. HAHAHAHAHA! I love the pics of your parents with wine, and you with the knife, the best! This trip is going to be a scream…I was wondering how that would work with four of you in your RV. SO glad to hear that your parents have their own. 😀

    Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

