How About Becoming a Stripper?

 

Grand Canyon National Park. We hiked down to there!

Grand Canyon National Park. We hiked down to there!

Grand Canyon National Park

And Grand Canyon National Park

Grand Canyon National Park

And another one of Grand Canyon National Park

And more Grand Canyon National Park

More of Grand Canyon National Park

One more of Grand Canyon National Park

Last one of Grand Canyon National Park. I promise.

I lied. Grand Canyon National Park

I lied. Grand Canyon National Park

Shelley: Sigh.

John: Oh Oh. What’s wrong?

Shelley: I’ve been thinking.

John: Careful! That could be dangerous.

Shelley: Ha! Funny guy. Anyway, after two and a half years of blogging, I was thinking about what I should do next? Should I continue to blog or should I try something new? IMG_4054 I don’t think I have a book in me. Besides according to Sean from “The Office Inbetweener” Amazon takes 60% off the cover price.

John: What a rip off.

Shelley: I know, right? And after watching “Honey Boo Boo,” reality TV is definitely out. That show was so awful I experienced sympathy hot flashes.

John: I didn’t know you could have those.

Shelley: Neither did I until I watched that crap. So, then I thought, “I need to try something that will scare the BeJesus out of me.” IMG_3973 And that’s when I had my Oprah Ah Ha moment.

Close enough.

Close enough.

I’ll use material from my blog and become a comedian. I know I can’t jump right into it.

Grand Canyon National Park (Check out John's face)

Grand Canyon National Park (Check out John’s face)

I realize it would be a steep learning curve. IMG_4097 I’d have to prepare; take writing and acting courses. Nancy (my buddy from Uni.) actually took a comedian course. I’d search for one of those. I’d take one careful step at a time. But… IMG_4041 John: But?

Shelley: But since watching Garet Webb and David Nickerson live, I’ve come to the conclusion that the life of a comedian is not for me. Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed Garet. Playing the guitar, as he joked, was very clever. And the energy of David was fabulous, until that stupid heckler started. Man, he tried everything to shut that jerk down like… “Thanks for helping me out.” and “Aeiouy? Why are you yelling a, e, i, o, u and sometimes y? Dude, you need to buy a consonant.” and “Your parents must be proud they raised such an irritating Red Neck.” and “Shut the F#$k Up! Let me get through my Chuck E. Cheese joke!” But eventually, he gave up with “F#$k it. I’m done.” and walked off the stage.

John: Shelley, what are you worried about? You taught for over thirty years. You’ve handled all kinds. You wouldn’t have had a problem handling that jerk.

Shelley: True, however, I think the management would have. IMG_3958 John: Oh.

Shelley:…

John:

Shelley: Got any other suggestions?

John: How about becoming a stripper?

Shelley: Sigh.

IMG_4118 Day 217, March 30th, 2014. Check out our interactive map, here.Sun March 30 Shelley and John

52 thoughts on “How About Becoming a Stripper?

  1. Strippers make good tips! But, perhaps a stint at the infamous “Moonlight Bunny Ranch” in Nevada! Now that would give you great blogging material!

    Like

      • Don’t underestimate yourself! I’ve seen a documentary on the Bunny Ranch, you’d look like an under aged minor compared to the others! Not too mention you’re physically fit with body parts where they’re meant to be!! You & John could really enhance your retirement account!!

        Like

  2. I admire anyone who can ”do heights” as I will go up but then freeze. To jump out of a plane took a gorilla with a hard_on behind me. Glad to see you’re still both up there—->

    Like

    • John spat his coffee when I read your comment. Have never jumped out of a plane. Will never jump out of a plane. Good for that Gorilla for giving you the courage. 🙂

      Like

  3. Love your pics. I have always wanted to go there. Guess that’s gonna have to go on my bucket list, which of course has been made with disappearing ink.

    Like

  4. This is a great post, Shelly. The photos are amazing to see… the Mule Train one would win a prize. And the one of John sitting is really nice. You told a great story.

    p.s. for what it’s worth, I think you would make a great stripper!

    Like

    • Awww thanks Ted. We passed a group of tourists on mules, too bad I didn’t have my camera out, because it was pretty amazing. I asked one of the women how long it takes to get to the bottom. Her reply, “Too long!” Ha! Stripping is not an option, but thanks for the vote. 🙂

      Like

  5. Gorgeous shots of the Grand Canyon! (Although a couple of them frighten me a bit, too. Your jumping one? Yikes!)

    Don’t give up blogging, please. Even if you decide to become a full-time stripper, surely there’s room for a little post every now and then? 🙂

    Like

    • Ha! Ha! No worries on the stripping. That John!!! Thanks for the positive comments on the shots. It’s so grand, it’s hard to capture. Does that make any sense? There was a shelf behind us. But check out John’s face.

      Like

    • I honestly believe I might have a few attention issues. 🙂 If Sandra Bullock can be an astronaut, so can I! Thanks. As I don’t think I could pull of the stripper thing.

      Like

    • To be honest, I didn’t know I was that close to the edge on the one where I’m doing my pose. John usually yells at me to get back even if I’m 10 metres away. So, I thought he was just worrying. Yep, with vertigo, am thinking you might have lost it on the hike. 🙂

      Like

  6. My older brother, not the naked and afraid one, took a comedy class in Atlanta & performed in front of a huge audience! He said it was awesome! Or a stripper. Either one. I have always told my husband that there should be something I can do from my bed (since I’m constantly there) that makes money and of course, prostitution comes to mind. He doesn’t love the idea.

    Like

    • Ha! Ha! Now that would be a book. How you can become a Stripper at 50 plus. Think Playboy’s granny. Euhhhhhh!!!! Thanks for the thumbs up on the pic’s. This is one of the few places in the world where I am awe struck and actually stop talking. John calls it a miracle.

      Like

  7. Shelley, I love your pics of the Grand Canyon. They really have a lot of the depth and detail that seems to be so hard to capture in all that grandness. When we make it there again on our RV tour, we are definitely hiking. We did not do it last time because we didn’t plan enough time.

    As far as your next career move, I think you are already a comedienne (with such a great and funny supporting cast) so I think you have that move nailed already. Stripper…hmm not so much, although that was quite the sexy shot of your dirty hiking duds. 😀

    Like

    • Thanks for the nod on the pic’s. Had to delete so many as this one guy decided to change all of the settings. WTF??? You’re right, you need to plan your hike down. But honestly, in moderate temp’s. I think you could go all the way to the river and back in one day if you’re in good shape. Wouldn’t attempt in the heat of the summer, though. We had a heck of a time getting our 5th wheel in the site. Ended up having to unhook in the road because we couldn’t back up… and then rehook. Then, we found a full hook up next door with drive throughs. Ug.

      Like

      • Right, I can’t imagine going to the GC and hiking in the heat of the summer. Once we are RVing, we are going to plan our location based on keeping in the coolish temps. I know there is heat everywhere, but no need to be in the desert in summer. 🙂 And I guess doing a lot of research or asking a lot of questions on camp sites re: pull throughs, etc. is a good plan? Do you belong to all those clubs in order to get discounts and find the right place? Or do you mostly go to State or National park sites? Inquiring minds want to know!

        Like

      • Coolish temps? Canada in the summer, the Northern Us in the fall, and southern Us in the winter. You’re welcome!! We, (John) talks to everyone. EVERYONE!! Usually it’s with people walking their dogs who stop to chat. We belong to RPI. We bought it online for cheap cheap. We advise people never to buy new from a park. Ours including our homepark was just over $700. We have a yearly fee – not sure how much exactly, but around $250 (Included home park yearly fee). In RPI parks we pay a fee from $10 to $15. But, we get discounts on other organizations. We also are Good Sam members. We do a mix. Some State parks are $35. Right now, we are in Red Rocks for $15. Just depends. Hope that helps.

        Like

      • I was thinking your locations/seasons exactly! And wow, Shelley, yes that does help. I had never heard of RPI, but checked them out online and that sounds like a good deal. Did you buy your home park membership from an individual online (like a resale) or from RPI? Are you preferred or just regular members and since there is a mileage limit in relation to your home park, is that how you decided? I can certainly just email you off line if you prefer 😉 I do figure a couple of memberships would be worth the cost. Wish we could go NOW.

        Like

      • We can keep this online as maybe it will help other RVers. We found a woman in Hemet, Ca., on line, who was selling second hand RPI memberships. Our home park is in Minnesota so the buy-in was ridiculously cheap. They figured we would never actually show up – surprise! There we were in September. We are preferred members and have the condo deal included, although we’ve never taken advantage of that.

        Like

      • Fabulous info, thank you! I am sure there are lots of other would-be RVers that can use this info! Will do some searching on RPI second-hand memberships.

        Like

  8. I can’t wait to see the Grand Canyon in person. We have a West Coast US trip concept, though it mightn’t see the light of day for a few years. Am keen to include the hiking trail that goes to Ooh Aah Point, now that you’ve brought it to my attention :).

    I reckon you could still look at doing a book – you’ve got a lot of valuable knowledge not to mention a unique voice.

    Like

    • The Grand Canyon is not to be missed. If you do get on the Ooh Ahh trail, it goes all the way to the bottom. 6 miles. They strongly don’t recommend getting to the river and coming back up in one day. They push camping or staying at the inn down there. Next year, with better planning, when it’s not super hot, we will try it out. As for the book, thanks for the support. I read your comment to John. He says I am definitely unique! What does he mean? 🙂

      Like

  9. Don’t you dare stop blogging!!! I’ll go off the rails. And speaking of Honey Boo Boo — I know, must we?! Anyway, she’s a fellow Georgia peach (yeah, just threw up in my mouth a little) and last summer the kids and I were hanging at a water park near where we live. There was all this commotion in one area and I asked one of the life guards what was going on. He said, “Well, I’m not supposed to tell anyone but I think the cat’s pretty much out of the bag. Honey Boo Boo and her family are here today and they’re filming an episode for that show they’re on.” We left shortly after without a sighting, BUT later that day my Facebook newsfeed blew up with talk of Honey Boo Boo and company. It was nuts. Apparently they showed out (shocking, I know.) Which brings me to your next gig — maybe you SHOULD entertain the idea of stripping. If you want a reality show, you have to dig deep and bring your trashy. And if you and John could BOTH strip, you would double your chances. I’ll keep my eyes open here in GA — you never know when Honey Boo Boo and her agent might be lurking and looking for new “talent.” 🙂

    Like

    • Dang it. My carefully crafted reply disappeared and here we are again. Have reconsidered, and will continue to blog. My next series will be back to making friends in the Comox Valley, getting part time jobs to make friends and then blogging about it. Plus, you convinced me with your plea. No way do I want you to go off the rails. In all seriousness thanks for the kind words. Now, on to stripping. That makes me bomit in my mouth. (My kids taught me that lovely word.) And finally Honey Boo Boo. You must be so proud. Like we Canadians are of our Toronto Mayor. AKA the Train Wreck.

      Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

