No Complaining No Explaining

IMG_4351 IMG_4227Untitled

Shelley: John. Ever since we started climbing, well over fifteen years ago, Yosemite’s been on my bucket list. And now, with less than a week before we head to Canada, we’re on our way. Whhooooheee! How lucky is that? Pretty darn lucky, I’d say. Much luckier than this poor forest.

IMG_4246

Om August 17th, an illegal fire started by a hunter burned 400 square miles. It spread from Stanislaus National Forest to Yosemite National Park.

On August 17th, 2013, fire burned 400 square miles. It spread from Stanislaus National Forest to Yosemite National Park.

Yosemite, where the hardcore, hard ass climbers from all over the world flock. Not that we are hard core, more like soft core. Ha! Ha! To think that we are gong to see where The Stonemasters, armed with their motto,

“No complaining, no explaning,”

$_12

blew traditional climbing out of the water?

“No Complaining. No Explaining”

is now part of my motto. Yes sir. That and

“Smiths don’t quit!”

Arghhhhhh. Ha! Ha!

Not to mention Lynn Hill, the original climbing Goddess, who completed the first “free ascent” of the 3,000 foot Nose on Yosemite’s El Capitan. (Climbing equipment is used, but not for aiding your climb) I bet she still climbs routes that we wouldn’t have a hope in Hell of finishing.

51-NZ0vJFTL

And, in 2008, Alex Honnold, at the age of 23, free soloed (No gear) Yosemite’s Half Dome in just two hours and fifty minutes, an ascent which usually takes between one or two days. No gear! Just Alex, his chalk bag and his climbing shoes. Unfreakingbelievable!! Check out his climb here. Do it readers. It cost me 0.5 GB’s on my Verizon hotspot.

www.catersnews.com

Alex on Half Dome (www.catersnews.com)

Isn’t it amazing that Franklin Roosevelt’s responsible for turning Yosemite, Joshua Tree, and Grand Canyon into National Parks? Now that President had vision; understood that we have to preserve these areas for eternity.

John Muir, one of Yosemite's earliest advocates with Teddy (www.nps.gov)

John Muir, one of Yosemite’s earliest advocates with Teddy (www.nps.gov)

Twenty bucks isn’t bad for a day pass, is it? Maybe next year we should buy a year’s pass to all of the National Parks? What do you think? Holy Shit! Is that snow?

IMG_4321

Not sure if we’re going to have time to climb today. Of course it’s not like we were planning to do any multi-ptches or anything. But, I don’t have any topo’s (Descriptions) of routes in our range although I’m sure there must be a book store that sells climbing books for our level. So today’ll be an explore day and we’ll come back next fall. No. Check that. I want to go to Utah to see Bryce Canyon in the fall. We’ll return to Yosemite next spring. Yep. That’s what we’ll do. Wow. This road sure winds all over the place. So curvy. Sooooo curvy.

IMG_4341IMG_4342

Whoahhh! You should see how close the fifth wheel is to the cliff.

IMG_4345

Then again, don’t worry about it. You’re doing great… Just great. I’ll take a picture of Priscilla to show people what kind of road we pulled our 28 foot fifth wheeler on.

IMG_4233

There. Ulk. Oh. Oh. Pheeewwwww. Oh my. Oh. My. Ohhhh myyyyyy. Ulk. Ahhh I don’t think I’m doing too great, though.

John: Shelley. Look. There’s Yosemite Valley.

Yosemite Valley, California

Yosemite Valley, California

Shelley: Pheeewwwww. Oh my. Oh. My. Ohhhh myyyyyy. Ulk.

John: Shelley?

Shelley: Ulk. This road made me sick. Blechhh. Oh man… Oh man… Sorry, I’m going to have to close my eyes for a minute… Why did I take pictures of Priscilla? I knew better than to look down. I knew looking down makes me car sick. Breathe Shelley. Whoooooshhhh. Ah Whooooooooshhh. Whoooooshhhh. Ah Whooooooooshhh. I apologize John, but I’m not going to be able to talk to you until I feel a little bit better. Is that OK with you that I stop talking? Can you manage without me?

John: What about “No Complaining.No explaining?” or “Smiths don’t quit?”

Shelley: Ulk.

IMG_4354

El Capitan

Bridalveil Falls, Yosemite National Park

Half Dome, Yoesmite Valley

Half Dome, Yoesmite National Park

Yosemite Falls, Yosemite National Park

Yosemite Falls, Yosemite National Park

North Dome, Yosemite National Park. Inside the circle are three climbers!

North Dome, Yosemite National Park. Inside the circle are three climbers! Seriously.

El Capitan

El Capitan

IMG_4297

Day 226, April 8th, 2014

map

Or check out our interactive map here. 

Shelley and John

42 thoughts on “No Complaining No Explaining

  1. Wow, splendid views. Did that young man really climb in shorts and a shirt with non lines or ropes?
    …..jeepers, he’s amazing…..

    Like

  2. Our family motto is: “If you ain’t crying, you ain’t trying!” Which is a little better than our Boy Scout’s unofficial motto of “It seemed like a good idea at the time!”

    And I’m pretty sure it was Teddy that created the National Parks System.😄 loved the photos!!!

    Like

    • Thanks. I’m still trying to sort out the settings. Tons were deleted. It’s such an amazing place. As for rock climbing, we will stay at one pitch. I bet there are climbing gyms in NY. Now that would be a fun date!

      Like

  3. Wow! Thank you for sharing your magnificent photos! Seeing the photo of Alex and the other climbers in the circle, freaks me out! I’m deathly afraid of heights, but admire those who have no fear.

    Like

    • Thank you for the photo compliments. I am not sure John and I are quite ready for Alex’s kind of climbing or ever will. Sadly, most soloists eventually make a mistake. I’ve watched a few soloists in Joshua Tree. I almost threw up. It’s stomach churning.

      Like

  4. Spectacular photos! Yosemite is SO on our list, although the only climbing we will be doing will be up those curvy, curvy roads, on our motorcycles! Love the photos of the RV on the turns! Haha, did you hang out the window to capture those? And I had to laugh at Priscilla, although Tatiana was my fav name evah. 😀

    Seriously, curvy roads are as much FUN on a motorcycle, as they are MISERY, in a 4 (or more) wheeled vehicle. Sorry you got sick. 😦

    Like

      • Awwww I seriously love you for all those kinds words. I’ve told John I need to get a part time job in order to make some friends. Stay tuned.

        Like

      • Oh, you are so welcome! I seriously love keeping up with your adventures. You are mucho entertaining!

        But I can read about your adventures at work, too, until you head out on the road again. When will that be, by the way?

        Like

      • Sounds wonderful to be in that area as it goes into fall! We are heading to central Canada the first week of September, but that will be on the bikes so it may be a struggle to blog about it after 12 hour days to get there, we shall see. At least I won’t have to deal with the J-O-B during that two weeks! 🙂

        Like

      • Excellent choice. If you keep going west into Yoho National Park, you’ll end up in Field, where I lived for a couple of years. Get excited!

        Like

      • Shelley, I can’t tell you how excited we are! We have some breaking news, it looks like we will be able to test ride our retirement plan of RV’ing and towing the bikes! WHEEEE! This news may even shake me out of my non-blog-writing status! 😀

        Like

    • Thanks for the thumbs up on the photos. Two, full on black leather clad motorcyclists blew past us from the opposite direction. Their knees were almost touching the pavement. Scary!!!

      Like

  5. My bucket list is watching you climb those crazy places! I’m all for a trip to the 5 National Parks in Utah! I’ll be the official photographer!

    Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

