Canada has Turtles

Kuwait Towers

Kuwait Towers

Me, my son, Matt, my soon to be daughter-in-law, Emma, Austin, Mo, John and Kareem at Khashm Ghudayy, Kuwait

Me, my son, Matt, my soon to be daughter-in-law, Emma, Austin, Mo, John and Kareem at Khashm Ghudayy, Kuwait

Khashm Ghudayy, Kuwait

Emma, Matt, John and me at Matla Ridge, Kuwait

Kuwait

Kuwait

Motaz and Matt at the Old Souk, Kuwait City

Motaz and Matt at the Old Souk, Kuwait City

The Old Souk, Kuwait City

The Old Souk, Kuwait City

Kuwait City

Construction in Kuwait City

IMG_8700

IMG_8739While visiting Emma’s Year 1, *five year old’s) class at the KUWAIT ENGLISH SCHOOL)

Shelley: Does anyone know what animals Canada has?

Abdul: Dogs?

John: Yes.

Aliah: Cats?.

Shelley: Definitely cats. Kuwait has loads of cats, doesn’t it?

Neo

Meet Neo, Emma and Matt’s cat, and

Thor

Thor, Matt and Emma’s rescue cat.

Class: Oh yes.

John: Very good, but can you think of any animals Canada might have that Kuwait doesn’t?

Ted: Turtles?

John: Turtles? I’m not sure.

Class: Oh yes. Ted’s been to Canada so he knows. That’s right. Yep. Ted was there when he was a baby. I’ve never been to Canada. I’m going to Canada. I’ve been to Jordan. I’ve been to Dubai. I’m from Korea.

Shelley: Of course Ted’s right. What were you thinking John? Any other animals?

Raj: I… I… I… I… Ahhhhhhh.

Shelley: Oh no. Did you forget what you were going to say?

Raj: (Nods head vigorously)

John: No problem, we’ll come back to you when you think of it.

Nora: Polar bears?

Class: Roarrrr. Arrrrghhhh! Eeeeeee! Look at me, I’m a polar bear.

John: We sure do, but to be honest, I’ve never seen a polar bear, however I’ve seen a grizzily bear. Has anyone seen a grizziy bear?

Omar: I’m from Egypt.

Emma: Right. Mr. and Mrs. Smith have told us so much about Canada. Why don’t you share some interesting things about Kuwait? Faran?

Faran: How… how… do… how do… how do they feed the animals at the zoo?

Shelley and John, guest reporting from Kuwait for “The Comox Valley Echo”

Up next, Dubai.

Day 87, Dec. 6th, 2014

 

 

16 thoughts on “Canada has Turtles

  1. Truthfully, I am lost. Here I was following the nice little map markers winding southward through the U.S. and now I’m reading posts from the U.K. and Dubai. Did you guys take another wrong turn? 🙂 And why do you appear to be crossing the starting line before the rest of the desert dusters?

    Like

    • Ahhh a visit to England to visit John’s family and friends and then off to Kuwait to visit Matt and his new fiance Emma. I appear to be crossing the line early because I am crossing the line early. 🙂 Basically I’m a cheater.

      Like

    • No worries. Yep, Kuwait. It was time to check out where Matt lived. Kuwait did not disappoint. An amazing culture. Part of the fun was being shown around by the young guys who are extremely proud of their country. Dubai was also very interesting. With alcohol allowed a very different vibe. 🙂

      Like

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

