Still Here

 

We didn't catch any fish, but the dolphins made up for it. (Los Barriles, Baja, Mexico)

We didn’t catch any fish, but the dolphins made up for it. (Los Barriles, Baja, Mexico)

Los Barilles, Baja, Mexico

Los Barilles, Baja, Mexico

Time to head to shore

Swells were swelling, time to head to shore in our 9 1/2 feet kayaks

Shelley: Thanks so much for giving me a camera lesson using the manual setting. Hmmm maybe I should play with these dolphin pics some more.

Andrew: No need. Considering that you took them from your kayaks, they turned out really well.

Shelley: Oh Andrew, you’re going to make an excellent teacher.

Andrew: Thanks mom. Teaching you this stuff actually helps me see whether or not my lesson plans are any good. Remember, don’t forget the three basics.

1514945_10100309070583096_6100875449816902320_n

Shelley and Andrew: Shutter speed, aperture and ISO.

Shelley: Got it. Love you. Miss you LOL. Mwahhhhh!!!

Andrew: Love you too!

Shelley and Andrew: Byeeeee!

Shelley: That went really well.

John: Do you understand what any of that means?

Shelley: Not at all. But wasn’t Andrew a sweetheart to teach me all about shutter speed and aperture and and… Now what in the world was that last one?

Andrew: ISO.

Shelley: Andrew?

Andrew: Yep.

Shelley: I thought I hung up. Damn Skype.

Andrew: No worries. Let’s try this instead, take pictures using the rule of thirds in the automatic setting, then tomorrow night we’ll see how you did. If all went well, we’ll review shutter speed. How’s that sound?

Shelley: Excellent. Love you.

Andrew: Love you too.

Shelley and Andrew: Byeee! Love you! LOL!

Shelley: Now that kid is amazing. Never missed a beat. So fast on his feet. Didn’t become flustered when his student was obviously clueless.

Andrew: Still here. Dad?

John: Got it.

Lord of the Wind Kite Surfing Competition, Los Barilles, Baja

Lord of the Wind Kite Surfing Competition, Los Berriles, Baja

IMG_0194

Lord of the Wind 2015, Los Barriles, Baja

Lord of the Wind 2015, Los Barriles, Baja

IMG_0433

Not really following the rule but I wanted to include a lady

Not really following the rule but I wanted to include a lady

Also doesn't  quite fit into my homework assignment but how cool is this guy?

Also doesn’t quite fit into my homework assignment but how cool is this guy?

Day 1

Day 130, Jan. 19th/2015

Shelley and John, volunteer travel reporters for “The Comox Valley Echo”  signing off from “The Comox Valley Echo”

30 thoughts on “Still Here

    • Thanks Teagan. They were pretty amazing. Just when we thought the paddle was a fail. We are trying to decide whether or not to go on a humpback whale watching trip out of Los Cabos or wait until our return trip and try the national park just below Los Barilles where we can snorkel and whale watch. I am so lucky to have to make these kinds of decisions. I truly am thankful.

      Like

  1. Shelley, the pics look great, even if they are on the point-and-shoot settings! I am not sure a fancy camera is for me, since I have no idea what the 3 basics mean either. 😉 Oh and no Andrew to teach me!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the laugh. I took a photography class a few months ago and the three basics are still a mystery to me. Going to be buying a big girl camera for our upcoming trip to South Africa. Hope I can get the hang of shutter speed, aperture and ISO by then!

    Like

    • A big girl camera is the way to go. Honestly I bought it because my cell phone took grainy pictures in the dark. South Africa sounds fabulous. We’ve never been to Africa! Can’t wait to see how it goes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Shelley!!…………did you get the number of the first dude you photographed? Come on Girlfriend! You can’t be fallen down on the job for me now can you be? Yeek Gades he’s that wild Californian type of guy I have been dreaming about! Get his number!

    Like

  4. These photos are amazing – whether you understood your lessons or not! That conversation made me laugh so much – with recognition! It reminded me a little bit of when my Grandma first got Skype. She had it on a setting that would make her computer automatically answer – so the call would connect and I would be able to see her sitting across the room reading or making a cup of tea while I yelled myself hoarse trying to make her look in my direction!

    Liked by 1 person

Enjoyed the post? Have a similar story? Have a better story? Here's your chance!

